Return to Website

Vocalist Forum
Message Board

This Forum is CLOSING!! You may READ the messages but no longer POST messages. Please go to Singing Teachers and use the new forum provided to post messages.

Vocalist Forum
Message Board
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Speech Level Singing

Hi
Just thought i'd add my tuppence-worth. I've been diagnosed with vocal nodules and have recnetly gone for SLS tuition with Dane Chalfin at LIPA - even though i've only had a fwe lessons - I know this technique is going to work - will keep you posted on my progress!!

Nice to know LIPA is prepared to give lessens to vocalist. I've been a student there for three years and not recieved a lot from them what so ever. We were supposed to recieve lessons with dane once a month but never got them. Nice to know the place has their priorities straight

A key to this problem is one tricky solution. One of the resources that I found says that it is important to teach the larynx not to rise or lower. That is very hard and I can't do it yet.

Hi people

Here it is again. The larynx rises and falls according to the pitch of the note you sing. It's a fact. That is what the larynx does. Just put your hand around your throat and hum a rising and falling phrase. Your larynx moves.

If you depress your larynx by pushing down with your tongue, you will get a dark coloured sound and you will lose the top notes of your voice. It is however possible to have a lower larynx position than your neutral and sing with a slightly darkened tone healthily. The jury is out on the difference between a lowered larynx and a depressed larynx. It is largely a matter of whether there is undue tension in the muscles that hold the larynx down and in the root of the tongue.

If the larynx is too high, constriction of the swallowing muscles results, unless you are able to keep the constrictor muscles neutral while raising the larynx to a high enough level.