Sports Therapy Forum

Welcome to our Forum

Active Health Sports Therapy Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Personal Trainers advising on injuries

As a Sports Therapist I abide by codes and ethics that I am qualified and insured to treat, rehabilitate and advise on Injuries. Anything I am not qualified to do or feel is out of my depth, it is my responsibility to refer and always put my clients wealfare ahead of my pocket!

Why is it then that I have an endless stream of Personal Trainers advising clients on injury care that they are not qualified to do?
I qualified as a PT in 1998 and I knew nothing about injury management from this training.

Are REPS regulating this area properly?
Are trainers liable to be sued for this poor practice?

Whats your opinion?
I think its an area that needs looking at, but I don't know where it starts?

Re: Personal Trainers advising on injuries

It keeps me in business, i see it all the time, a PT with a 4 week training course (there are worse out there, completely online training ) who advise on diet, injury management and other issues outside their remit, i suppose it is the fault of the industry or training providers who do not adequately provide information on scope of practise.

REPS is not a regulator it is simply a PA, it had too strong a link with premiere training and active IQ who insist they are completely different companies, well they mnight be registered seperately, but those who are long in the tooth still realise their historic links and the close links between all the main bods at both companies.
TO me REPS is a waste of time, they cannot enforce " you need to be a REPS member to have this job" as it is discriminatory. according to EU legislation.

all qualified personal trainers should have a basic first aid qualification as part of their course therefore they can and should be advising on RICE but then should refer on to a more qualified practitioner.