Sports Therapy Forum

Welcome to our Forum

Active Health Sports Therapy Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Lack of Sports Therapy jobs, full and part time

Hi all,

I've been working for myself as a Sports Therapist since 2008 (when I graduated). Have been working for Rugby clubs ever since and full enjoy what I do, in fact I wouldn't change my job for anything...apart from it being full time!

I have decided to seek a stable job rather than continue working self-employed. I have found it increasingly difficult over the past few months to find one which recognises Sports Therapy.

Is anyone else finding this really hard? All I find is freelance work, many employers requesting HPC registration (When do Sports Therapists get theirs Mr Graham Smith?), and CSP.

I am finding it increasingly frustrating. Currently exploring other avenues to develop my career, like the NHS Physiotherapy degree, physio assistant jobs etc.

Re: Lack of Sports Therapy jobs, full and part time

Hi, when you say graduate do you mean from the BSc in Sports Therapy?

Have you raised your concerns with your professional association?

Unfortunately you are not the first BSc grad sports therapist to either feel like this, or feel the need to go into physiotherapy.

It is a shame, as sports therapy is such a great industry, but it has been badly let down by certain organisations.

It is a shame that there have been so many promised statutory regulation, or lots of work in elite sport, when in fact, stat regs arent happening, and we have known this for years, and jobs in elite sports go to physios, many of whom are not trained to work in sport or with sports injuries, or people who know people in sport, or work their way up.

As a commercial enterprise, I always give my students and potential students real advice on what they can expect, and it must be right, because month after month we get referalls from graduates who are happily working once they qualify.