UK Psychedelia Discussion Forum

Regal Zonophone 2

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Pink Floyd The Early Years 1965-1972

Well it arrived this past week - twice actually, as amazon.uk didn't include the Obscured By Clouds 2016 remix the first time. If you haven't been following along, the Obfusc/ation book unintentionally included a 2016 remix of Pompeii (an unexpected treat) instead of ObC. Most of the boxes had a copy of ObC slipped into the outer packaging before they were shipped out... mine however didn't. I contacted amazon and a replacement box arrived in two days - colour me impressed!
I'm only scratching the surface at this point, as it will take quite some time to get through it all, but it's well and truly a dream come true. I've had tons of Floyd bootlegs for years, so much of this is familiar... but the sonic upgrade really is breathtaking (and I'm just getting into the second CD of Cambridge St/ation at this point - the Live in Stockholm 1967 section... ooooh, Syd's vocals have finally become audible at the end of 'Matilda Mother'- nice!). Previous to that though, hearing 'In The Beechwoods', 'Vegetable Man' and 'Scream Thy Last Scream' in pristine clarity is worth the price of admission.
Okay, maybe not quite as this was a hell of a lot of money - probably the most I've laid out for one purchase. Who am I kidding, this IS the most I've ever paid for a single item - but what an item it is!
All I can say is, if you can - GET IT!

Paul martin
Can't see one of Amazon's delivery drones even getting airborne with that hooked underneath!

I hope you're not an Ian Hunter fan as well Mark because....

http://www.superdeluxeedition.com/news/ian-hunter-stranded-in-reality-career-spanning-30-disc-box-set/#comment-1294720

PM

Actually, I am a fan of Ian Hunter, but I had already decided to give this a miss when I first heard of it (as I did with the Alex Harvey 'The Last of the Teenage Idols' box as well).