Return to Website

Speakerbuilder.net

Welcome to the Speakerbuilder.net discussion forum. While being polite and respectful is not common on the internet, please try not to flame people who don't deserve it. Otherwise, go nuts.

Speakerbuilder.net
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Veritas cross over and mid range

I am new at speaker building so pardon me a bit. I am building the Veritas and finished the cross-overs. I have followed the plans exactly. I connected the speakes without a baffle or box to see if the crosses work. They work but what I noticed from both sides is that the mids have a bit of distortion at the higher end of the range. I played a jazz piano CD which sounds warm and clear on my current system. Since the mids and tweeters are sealed should I be hearing any thing out of the ordinary? Like I said I have followed the plans exactly or at least think I have. Will the baffle and box make any difference. I know the sound with free standing speakers will not be good but I am a little worried about what I am hearing now.

Re: Veritas cross over and mid range

Caveat: I'm no expert in the sense of many here, but have a lot of experience building kits, designing and building my own designs, designing and building pro sound speakers, and (along the way) messing with a lot of drivers, xovers, active xovers, etc.

That being said, it is my observation that isolating a narrow band of the overall signal (such as the mids, which you are referring to) and then listening to a driver reproducing them without the benefit of having the rest of the freq spectrum being appropriately reproduced, etc, can lead to apparently "bad" results.